My Yoga Journey

So I’m on a new “leg” of my yogic journey.

I start taking my yoga teacher training in the fall (September) at Yama Studio in Baltimore. (www.yamastudio.com) As some of you know, I’ve been doing yoga for around 2 and 1/2 -3 years now. It wasn’t until this year that I’ve begun to notice a major change in my body. I feel like I’ve become more flexible, more strong, more steady. I appreciate that I put in the time and effort, the commitment it took (and still takes) to bring about these changes in myself. I am still working on myself! I am praying that God will change things in my heart, my attitude, my personality even.

I am aware that I have the tendency to be extremely negative and not very fun to be around. I can be uptight, and a complainer. I really really want to work on changing these things about me. I feel like I am ready to put in the work, and also to ask God to show me things in myself that I need to work at un-rooting. Bitterness, anger, and selfishness have rooted themselves into my life. They are deep within my heart. At times in my life I had wished they were gone, and other times I have tended to the poisonous garden and not cared. Told myself that this is who I am—and people, my husband for example, will just have to except it. This is wrong. This negative, selfish side of my being is not what i want to embrace and love. I want to change it. I want to love more freely and speak more lovingly and not just wish I could. I want to do it.

So I’m taking this journey, with God, and myself–in my yoga teacher training. I am using this time, to grow and to hopefully change some things within myself. Also, to brighten the positive things inside me—my compassion for others, my sensitive spirit, my heart to worship and love the Lord with all that I have and all that I am.

I ask from my friends, family, mentors, teachers, that they be patient with me as I learn more about myself and try to be more like the person that I feel Christ calls me to be.

Namaste.

One thought on “My Yoga Journey

  1. This sounds awesome. It’s a really humbling experience to admit to yourself that something in you needs to be changed. May God continue to bless you.

    I want to start doing yoga. I’m incredibly inflexible and have always wanted to change that.

Leave a Reply

